Is colour-pop photography outdated?

When I took this photo at Windsor Castle, I looked at the screen on the back of my camera and I was pretty pleased with the results. However when editing the image, the sky and bushes in the background were really distracting and took the attention of the Queens Guards. So I thought I would bust out a bit of colour-pop editing.

I think the editing works but I just have a feeling that colour-pop is just a thing of the past now and makes the image look old fashioned. I would love to know what any other bloggers thing?

2 thoughts on “Is colour-pop photography outdated?

  1. I think you answered your own question not by stating ‘what’ you did, but by ‘why’ you did it: “…the sky and bushes in the background were really distracting and took the attention of the Queens Guards.”
    Even if you felt the technique was old fashioned – which I do not – the important part is how it fits within the image as a whole. For instance, you did not ask whether a fast shutter speed was better than a slow one, or whether you should have taken the shot from head-on instead of from the side. It all works together.
    Well done.

Leave a Reply

