Home made snoot

Being a little bored, I decided to grab my camera and just play around with some portraiture. I don’t have any proper studio lighting and I do not have any plans to buy any. However sometimes I do wish I had access to some. All I have with regards to external light sources is a Canon 430EX II speedlite. I also do not have any umbrellas or other lighting aids.

However I decided to make a simple homemade snoot. A snoot is an adapter that creates a small spotlight affect. They are used quite a lot in portraits. I am pretty pleased with some of the shots I managed to bag. One shown below.

Portrait with snoot

Portrait with snoot

The snoot was just made from a wrapped piece of coloured card. It needs to be held and wrapped pretty tightly for affect. It was held around 1m away and above the head. I triggered it using radio. I also sat on the floor and used a black desk chair as a backdrop. See below

Chair

Chair


Home made snoot

Home made snoot

Leave a Reply

